thegreenodyssey.com

Home | About us | Contact Us
 
 
Kerala
Kerala Destnations
Kerala House Boats
Services
South India
 
   
 
 
   
»  Best of Kerala 14 days, Kochi/ Munnar / Periyar/Kumarakom/ Alleppey/ Kovalam/ Trivandrum
»  Exotic Kerala - Cochin/Munnar/ Periyar/ Kumarakom/Alleppey/ Thirunathapuram/ Kovalam/ Kanyakumari/Cochin
»  Spice Tour of Kerala
»  Backwaters of Kerala
»  PCA
Eranakulam

 

Eranakulam
Area: 2408sq.km
Altitude: Sea Level
Population: 2,797,779(2001 census)
Telephone access code: + 91-484
 
Air: Inter National Airport 35 km from City.
 
Rail: Eranakulam is well connected to all major cities of India.
 
Road: The KSRTC bus station near the Eranakulam junction railway sation.Private bus operate from Kaloor, high court junction and railway station.
 
Inter state private bus services to Bangalore, Mangalore, Coimbatore and Madurai.
 
Ferry services: There are two ferry stations in Eranakulam.The main station is 1 km from Eranakulam Junction railway station and other is near to high court.
Eranakulam-Vypeen (1/2 hr journey), Eranakulam – Mattancherry (1/2 hr journey) Eranakulam – Fort Cochin (20.minutes) and Eranakulam- Willington Island (15 minute) services are available.
 
The Hill Palace Museum, Thripunithura
Open 0900 -1230 hrs, 1400 – 1630 hrs, closed on Monday.
This Palace was built in 1865; this palace complex consists of 49 buildings in the traditional architectural style of Kerala and is surrounded by 52 acres of terraced land with a Deer park and facilities for horse riding. A full-fledged ethno – archeological museum and Karla’s first ever heritage museum are the main attractions. Displayed inside the thirteen galleries are oil paintings, 19th century paintings, murals, sculptures in stone and plaster of paris, manuscripts inscriptions and coins belonging to the royal family.
 
 Durbar Hall Art Gallery
Open 1100 -1800 hrs.At one time known as the Parikshit Thampuran Museum, it has now been converted in to the Durbar Hall Art Gallery. The museum also houses a collection of coins, bronzes, copies of murals and megalithic relics of Kerala.
 
Eranakulam Siva Temple
Popularly known as Eranakulathappan, this temple is associated with the birth of the name of the city. The idols of Siva and Parvathi are claimed to be Swayambhoo or self-created.
 
Chottanikkara Temple
16 km northwest of Eranakulam.This temple enshrines the Godess Bhagavathy in three forms. As Saraswati, Bhadrakali, and Durga.Devotees form all over to this 10th century temple seeking liberation from mental illness as the Godess is believed to cure such ailments.
 
Chottanikkara Temple
This temple enshrines the Goddess Bhagavathy in three revered forms, as Saraswati, Bhadrakali and Durga.Devotees flock from all over to this 10th century temple seeking liberation from mental illness as the Goddess is believed to cure such ailments.
 
 
Veegaland
This is an amusement park with excellent water sports facilities which is 24 km from Kochi towards Perumbavoor.It is a favorite weekend getaway for both local and tourists.
 
Kanjiramattom Mosque
This mosque honoring the Saint Sheikh Fairdudin, at the Chanadanakudam Festival, pilgrims carry pots covered with sandalwood paste in a procession to the mosque.
 
Museum of Kerala History (Edappally)
Open 1000-1700 hrs which is 8 km from Kochi at Edappally.This 'live' Museum is not just a retelling of the past but is a Light and Sound show of three-dimensional visuals. 87 figures that shaped the history and culture of Kerala in the last two thousand years have been represented here in Light and Sound Tableaus. The story, from the early peoples of Kerala to the modern age is interspersed with Social, Cultural and literary facets are a fascinating one.
 
Kumbalangi Tourist Village
Essentially a fishing hamlet, this tiny village facing the Kochi backwaters in the western part of the city is the first ecotourism village in India.Kalagramam,an artist’s village ,displays handicrafts and fishing equipment.
 
Kaladi
The birth place of Adi Sankaracharya the great philosopher of 8th century .This place is 35 km away from Kochi and 10 km from Aluva.Temple dedicated to sree Sankara, Sarada, Sree Krishna and Sree Ramakrishna add to the sanctity of the destination. Legends, a crocodile caught hold of him and refused to release him until Sankara’s mother Aryamba permitted him to accept Sanyas (renunciation).
 
Kodanad
Kodanad is a beautiful rural riverside village and a popular day picnic spot in the Ernakulam district of state of Kerala in southern India. Elephant rescue and care centre for central and southern forest region of Kerala is located in Kodanad. Kodanad is situated on the south bank of river Periyar. In 1950-60s, Kodanad used to be the largest of several elephant training centers for captured Elephants from the adjoining forest regions. They were trained using Mahouts, especially skilled people also known as Paappan in Malayalam language. In 1970s, there was a ban to elephant capture by Government of India and from then on, Kodanad is primarily used as a rescue training centre.
 
Chendamangalam
The Chendamangalam is located in a small town in Ernakulam district of Cochin. Chendamangalam Fort of Kochi Kerala is situated at about 42 kilometers from Ernakulam district of Kerala. The fort is surrounded by vast expanses of lush green landscape and small hillocks and has 3 rivers flowing nearby. The Chendamangalam fort is 450 years old and houses some rare artifacts, relics and historical documents. You will find not only a unique amalgamation of various natural resources, but you will be amazed to see the unique blend of cultures too. One can find a temple, a mosque and a church in close proximity in Chendamangalam fort.

This region used to be the lodging place of the Paliath Achans, the official Prime Minister of Maharaja of Kochi. Another place of interest is the Vypeenkotta Institution built in the 16th century by the Portuguese. Right next to the seminary is an old Catholic Church built in the 11th century. In India, the first printing press was set up over here.
 
Bhoothathankettu
Bhoothathankettu is a dam and tourist site in Kerala, India. It is situated in the village of Pindimana, about 10 km away from the town of Kothamangalam and 50 km away from the main city of Ernakulam.
It is connected to the Salim Ali Bird Sanctuary, where visitors can see different varieties of birds and animals. The Idamalayar reservoir is about 12 km distance from the site. There is no railway access to the site; access to the site is through the greenish and thick forest. At the time of Malayatoor pilgrim season, travelers use the roads through the forest.
Large blocks of unshaped stones are placed on both sides of the Periyar River to form the dam, making it look like a natural dam built by super humans. The name Bhoothathan Kettu means "monster dam"; past generations believed it was built by a Bhootham (monster).
 
Thattekkadu Bird Sanctuary
This sanctuary was set up by the ornithologist of India Dr.Salim Aly and hence, is also known as Salim Aly bird Sanctuary. Established in the year 1983, this bird Sanctuary is well famous as one of the best most attractive bird sanctuaries in India. This Sanctuary is located in the Kothamangalam district of Idukki in Kerala.The sanctuary is noted for indigenous birds like the Malabar grey-hornbill, the woodpecker, rose –ringed and blue-winged parakeer etc.Rare birds like the Ceylon frog moth and the Rose-billed roller are also seen here.
 
Mattancherry Palace /Dutch Palace(Open 1000 -17000 hrs ,Closed on Fridays)
Built by the Portuguese in 1557and presented to Raja Veera Kerala Varma of Kochi.the palace was renovated in 1663 by the Dutch. On display here are beautiful murals depicting Scenes from the epics ,Ramayana and Mahabharata ,and some of the Puranic Hindu legends .The palace also houses Dutch maps of old Kochi,royal palanquins, coronation robes of former Maharajas of Kochi as well as period furniture.
 
Synagogue (Open 1000-1200 hrs, 1500 -1700 hrs, Closed on Fridays, Saturdays and Jewish Holidays)
Construction in 1568, this is the oldest synagogue in the common wealth. Destroyed in shelling during the Portuguese raid in 1662.it was rebuilt two years later by Dutch .Known for mid 18th Century hand painted, willow patterned floor tiles from Canton in China, a clock tower .Hebrew inscriptions on stone slabs, great scrolls of the Old Testament .ancient scripts on copper plates etc.
 
Jew Town: The area around the Synagogue is centre of spice trade and curio shops.
 
Cherai Beach
This lovely beach bordering Vypeen Island is ideal for swimming .Dolphins are occasionally seen here. Atypical Kerala village with paddy fields and coconut groves nearby is an added attraction.
 
Bolgatty Island
This island is famous for its palace of the same name. The Bolgatty palace was built in 1774 by the Dutch and later taken over by the British. Today it is a hotel run by the Kerala Tourism Development Corporation, with a small golf course and special honeymoon cottages.
 
Fort Kochi
 
Chinese Fishing Nets /Vasco da Gama Square
The huge cantilevered fishing nets are the legacy of one of the first visitors to the Malabar Coast. Erected here between 1350 and 1450 AD by traders from the court of Kublai Khan, these nets are set up on teak wood and Bamboo Poles. The best place to watch the net is lowered in to the sea and the catch being brought in is the Vasco da Gama Square, a narrow promenade that runs along the beach.
 
Pierce Leslie Bungalow
This charming mansion was the office of Pierce Leslie& Co. ,coffee merchants founded in 1862.This building reflects Portuguese , Dutch and local influences. Waterfront verandahs are added attraction.
 
Koder House
This building constructed by Samuel S.Koder of the Cochin Electric Company in 1808 is a supreme example of the transition from colonial to Indo-European architecture. Features like verandahs seats at the entrance, floor tiles set in a chess board pattern, red colored brick –like facade, carved wood furniture and a wooden bridge connecting to a separate structure across the street are all unique to this bungalow.
 
Santa Cruz Basilica
The Santa Cruz Cathedral not only happens to be one of the oldest churches in Cochin, but also in the whole of India. Counted as one of the heritage edifices of Kerala. It was built by the first Portuguese viceroy, Francesco de Almeida, when he arrived in Kochi way back in 1505 and elevated to a Cathedral by pope Paul IV in 1558. On 3 May that year, during the feast of the "Invention of the Holy Cross", the foundation stone of this church was laid and upon completion, it was christened as Santa Cruz Cathedral. The church was proclaimed a basilica in 1984 by Pope John Paul II.
 
Vasco House
Believed to have been the residence of Vasco da Gama, this is one of the oldest Portuguese residences in Fort Kochi.Built in the early sixteenth century; Vasco house sports the typical European glass –paned windows and balcony –cum-verandahs characteristic of the times.
 
Parade Ground
The Portuguese, the Dutch and the British colonists conducted their military parades and drills. Today the largest open ground in Fort Kochi, the parade ground is a sports arena.
 
The Dutch Cemetery
The tombstones here are the most authentic record of the hundreds of Europeans who left their homeland on a mission to expand their colonial empires and changed the course of history of this land.The cemetery was consecrated 1n 1724 and is today managed by the Church of South India.
 
Thakur House
The bungalow was built on the site of the Gelderland Bastion, one of the seven bastions of the Old Dutch Fort.Eaelier known as Kunal or Hill Bunglow, it was the home to the managers of the National bank of India during the British reign. Today, the bungalow belongs to Ram Bahadur Thakur and Company, the renowned tea trading firm.
 
David Hall
Built around 1695 by the Dutch East India Company. David hall gets its name from one of its later occupants, David Koder, a Jewish business man. The hall was originally associated with Hendrik Adriaan Van Reed Tot Drakestein, renowned Dutch commander better known for Hortus Malabaricus, a pioneering compilation of the flora of the Malabar Coast.
 
The Cochin Club
The club, with its impressive library and collection of sporting trophies, is housed in a beautifully land scaped park. In the early 1900’s, when the club had just become operational, admission was restricted to the British and to men only.Today, though the club retains its traditional English ambience, its rules are more liberal and the membership of 250 includes women as well.
 
St.Francis Church
Open 0600 -1900 hrs, only on weekends. Mass timing: 0600 and 0715 hrs.
Built in 1503 by Portuguese Franciscan friars, this is India’s oldest European Church. This was initially built of timber and later reconstructed in stone masonry. It was restored in 1779 by the Protestant Dutch; coverted to an Anglican church by the British 1795and is at present governed by the Church of South India.
Vasco da Gama was buried here in 1524 before his remains were moved to Lisbon, Portugal .The tombstone still remains.
 
Bastion Bungalow
Built in the Indo-European style way back in 1667, the bungalow gets its name from its location on the site of the Stromberg Bastion of the Old Dutch Fort. The building blends beautifully in to the circular structure of the bastion, has a tiled roof and a typical first floor verandah in wood along its front portion. Though it has been said that a network of secret tunnels runs beneath the bunglow, none have been found. Today the bungalow is the official residence of the Sub Collector.
 

 
bookNow